When I’m cooking, I often put something on the boil and forget it till I smell burning. That’s not an ideal situation. So, I set up short-timers on my iPhone or Apple Watch to save my food from burning the house down. These timers can also be useful for quick power naps or high-intensity workouts. It just takes a few seconds to set up a timer on both devices. Here’s how you can do it:

iPhone

Swipe down from the top-right edge to open the control center. Long press on the timer icon. Using the scroll bar, set up the timer for the duration you want. Tap on start.

If you want to set up a more precise timer, tap on the timer icon to open the clock app. Alternatively, you can use Siri to set up a timer by saying “Hey Siri, set up a timer for five minutes.”

Apple Watch

Press the digital crown. Open the timer app. Select one of the preset timers such as 1 minute, 3 minutes, 5 minutes. To set up the custom timer, scroll down, and set the duration.

  These are some quickest methods to set up a timer on your iPhone and Apple Watch. I’m off to take a power nap.

How to quickly set up a timer on your iPhone and Apple Watch - 36How to quickly set up a timer on your iPhone and Apple Watch - 8